Posts

Blog Tour: Ghost Road by Charis Cotter

Image
Good morning everyone! Today I'm sharing Ghost Road by Charis Cotter, in partner with Penguin Teen Canada.

Tour Schedule: 



Book details:
Ghost Road by Charis Cotter
Publication date: September 4th 2018
Genres: Middle Grade, Mystery, Historical


Synopsis:

Ghosts, a family curse, buried secrets -- and two girls who have to figure it all out. A new book from an acclaimed author, for fans of Coraline, Doll Bones and The Night Gardener.

For the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she's never met instead of spending the summer traveling with her dad. When she arrives, she finds Newfoundland is very different from her life in Toronto--people there are much more friendly, but also superstitious, believing in ghosts and The Sight and family curses. Ruth's cousin Ruby is also staying for the summer, and the two discover they have a lot in common: they both lost their moms when they were two years old, they're the same age and they even like the same food. B…

ARC Reviews: Wicked King by Holly Black & Rule by Ellen Goodlett

Good morning lovelies! I have two very exciting reviews to share with you, of two of the biggest upcoming YA releases:


Wicked King by Holly Black

If you know me, then you would know how much I ADORED The Cruel Prince by Holly Black - the fantasy realm, the bold and ruthless main characters, and the hint of a brewing love story all contributed to make it one of my favourite books of the year. This past month I had the incredible opportunity to review the second in the series, and here's what I thought:


* received an ARC from publisher in exchange for honest review *

RATING: 4.5/5 stars

The Wicked King starts out about 5 months into Carden's reign under Jude's control, and the dark powers of the Faerie Realm are still as prominent as before. Jude has new challenges to face as enemies emerge, and not everyone is as trustworthy as they claim.

I will admit, the first part of the book I found slower, a bit less engaging than I expected. It was important to develop new characters…

Blog Tour: Sadie by Courtney Summers

Image
Good morning everyone! Today I'm sharing Sadie by Courtney Summers, in partner with Raincoast Books.

Tour Schedule: 



Book details:
Sadie by Courtney Summers
Published by: Wednesday Books
Publication date: September 4th 2018
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Contemporary


Synopsis:


Sadie hasn't had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she's been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie's entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister's killer to justice and hits the road following a few meagre clues to find him.

When West McCray—a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America—overhears Sadie's story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie's journey, trying to figure out what…

August Wrap Up

Image
August was a very successful reading month for me! I loved a lot of the books I read, and had the opportunity to review some incredible books.

Here is my Wrap Up:

To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han - 4.5/5 ⭐

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han - 5/5 ⭐

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han - 4.5/5 ⭐

Mammoth by Jill Baguchinsky - 4.5/5 ⭐

     Thank you Turner Publishing for the ARC!

Catwoman Soulstealer by Sarah J. Maas - 5/5 ⭐

     Thank you Penguin Teen Canada for the finished copy!

The Wicked King by Holly Black - 4.5/5 ⭐

     Thank you HBG Canada for the ARC!

The Ghost Road by Charis Cotter - 4.75/5 ⭐

     Thank you Penguin Teen Canada for the ARC! Keep an eye out next week for a blog tour
     featuring my review!

Rule by Ellen Goodlett - 4.75/5 ⭐

     Thank you HBG Canada for the ARC!




Box Review: August Uppercase Box

Image
Happy Friday friends! As the month ends, I am excited to share my unboxing & review of the August Uppercase Box.

Each month, they offer signed new release YA novels with a small amount of goodies and access to extra features on their site to further connect with readers!

Included in August’s package:


9 3/4 Harry Potter travellers notebook 📓
“You Are a Rare Edition” Cards ♥️
Dance of Thieves sword necklace 🗡
BOOK: Dance of Thieves by @maryepearson (SIGNED) 📖 (The maps in this novel are also stunning!)

Also included was a bookmark featuring codes that unlock a variety of exclusive content to Uppercase readers!



Review Overall, I couldn't be happier with my experience from the August Uppercase box. The team (especially Melissa) was a pleasure to work with, and always were patient and polite with me (which I greatly appreciate). The bag was mailed in a plastic envelope to avoid tears or weather damage, perfect for unpredictable weather year round. My package was in the mailbox for…

Recent Reads: ARCs + Book Reviews

Image
Hey again lovelies!

I thought I would share some of my recent reads for the last couple of weeks:

Give the Dark my Love by Beth Revis (July 31st) - 4.25 ⭐

* received an ARC from the publisher exchange for an honest review *

This book really surprised me. After beginning rather slow, the action picked up, the darkness crept in, and Nedra's character truly began to shine. The characters in this novel really impressed me, I found Nedra's development throughout the novel to be engaging, and it became clear where - and who, her priorities lied with. Her strong family loyalties and desire for saving the poor village members that raised her led to her ultimate demise - or led to her rise.

The unique twists and turns really intrigued me, and I was hooked until the last page. I liked the rotating POV's, it made it easier to understand Nedra's and Grey's thoughts and feel their pain. There are some extremely dark elements in this novel, and I personally found them to be a bit…

July Wrap Up

Image
I thought I would take this time to share my July Wrap Up!

It was a great reading month for me, and I genuinely enjoyed all the novels I read!


Here is a review:

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black - 5/5 stars ⭐

Between Frost and Fury by Chani Lynn Feener - 4.25/5 stars ⭐

Dare You to Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch - 5/5 stars ⭐

Sadie by Courtney Summers - 4.75/5 stars ⭐

Give the Dark my Love by Beth Revis - 4.25/5 stars ⭐



If you have read of these titles, or want more info on them, feel free to comment or email me!